top of page
  • rikkehansen2023

Humility as a virtue – and a way of creating value

The idea that humility and curiosity are cousins that together create a sense of psychological safety that allows you to take risks really speaks to me. In my own practice as a coach and consultant I keep experiencing how the value I add when working with people increases when I stay curious, access my ignorance, and recognize my own Here-and-now Humility. To do that, I strive to be present and aware in the situation and to let myself be (temporary) ‘subordinate’ to create psychological safety for other. Or to see Humble Inquiry as both an art and an attitude.


References:

Edmondson, Amy (2021). When Psychological Safety & Emotional inclusion Come Together, The Emotional Inclusion Podcast

Schein, E. (2021). Humble Inquiry, Second Edition. San Francisco: Berrett-Koehler

13 visninger

Seneste blogindlæg

Se alle

Vulnerability as a source of growth

To be truly humble and curious speaks to my sense of finding the growth edge to achieve personal and organizational growth. If humility and curiosity create a sense of psychological safety that allow

To listen with an open will

As a coach, I hope to stand on a deep awareness about levels of listening and how to practice listening on different levels. I realize the importance of having an open mind and an open heart, whether

Mental models

Mental models can be helpful and problematic. I often end up in a thinking pattern like ‘You are worth something because of the hard work you do’. On one hand, it drives me to prove I can take on and

bottom of page